The low-frequency radio sky as seen by the Owens Valley Long Wavelength Array (image credit Michael Eastwood and the OVRO LWA team).
  • December 7-9, 2016
  • Pasadena, California

A slew of new radio telescopes, as well as substantial upgrades to existing facilities, has led to an explosive growth in capability at low radio frequencies. This increase in capability is driving exciting progress over a range of fields, including high redshift 21-cm signatures of cosmic dawn and the epoch of reionization, pulsars and transients, planetary and exoplanetary magnetospheres, sky surveys, space weather and the Sun, cosmic rays and the ionosphere. This meeting will provide a forum to share and discuss early science results and techniques, as well as to plan a coordinated path forward to next generation facilities.

Conference Photos

An image of the conference attendees. An image of the conference attendees.

Click on each image for a full-size version.


Important Dates

  • Aug 17
    First announcement
  • Sep 14
    Second announcement; website goes live; details on logistics and costs; registration opens
  • Oct 29
    Third announcement with invited speakers
  • Nov 10
    Online registration closes
  • Dec 7
    First day of the conference; conference reception at the Athenaeum
  • Dec 8
    Second day of the conference
  • Dec 9
    Final day of the conference
  • Dec 10
    Conference excursion to the California Science Center

Organizing Committees

Scientific Organizing Committee

  • Gregg Hallinan - Caltech (chair)

  • Melanie Johnston-Hollitt - Victoria University of Wellington

  • Greg Taylor - University of New Mexico

  • David Kaplan - University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

  • Cath Trott - ICRAR/Curtin

  • George Heald - CSIRO

  • Rene Vermeulen - ASTRON

  • Tracy Clarke - Naval Research Laboratory

  • Jason Hessels - University of Amsterdam / ASTRON

  • Danny Jacobs - Arizona State University

  • Yashwant Gupta - NCRA-TIFR

Local Organizing Committee

  • Marin Anderson - Caltech

  • Michael Eastwood - Caltech

  • Ryan Monroe - Caltech

  • Harish Vedantham - Caltech

  • Joseph Lazio - JPL

  • Gregg Hallinan - Caltech